Day 187 – I almost lost my cool

Traveling can be stressful. Traveling with kids can be stressful. Traveling with a one year old who is wide open all the time is not for the faint of heart. Flying in and of itself can be challenging. Check in, baggage, delays. There are so many things that can go wrong.

When we left to come home from California we arrived at the airport in plenty of time. Orange County airport is pretty small so navigating it is pretty easy even with 3 kids, a car seat, a stroller,  a suitcase, 3 carry on suitcases, backpacks and a diaper bag. We rolled right into check in and the kids and Cesar got in line while I went to a kiosk to print bag tags since I had checked in for our flight online. As I was at the kiosk a woman gets in line behind the rest of my family. She realizes that I am still at the kiosk and starts to complain loudly about it. She the proceeds to just walk right around and get in front on us in line. I tell her in the nicest way I can (I have been told my nice has a tone) that I was already checked in I was just printing my bags. She continues to complain. 

At that moment I almost lost my cool. 

I chose to not say what I really wanted to say and instead chose grace, counted it as my act of kindness for the day and let it go. I had no idea why the lady was so hateful but I was getting ready to travel across county with a one year old on my lap who didn’t take a nap. That lady was the least of my worries. 

When I had finished printing and paying for bags I stood in line with Cesar. The lady and her husband were still in line in front of us. The line started to move but they didn’t. They were holding up the line, for the rest of their family, WHO WAS STILL AT A KIOSK!!!!

At that moment I almost lost my cool. 

I mumbled something under my breath about the kiosk and almost pushed my way past them in line but then I stopped. What kind of example would I be setting. I was getting mad and irritated but I decided to just let it go. When they got up to the ticket counter I watched them get all huffy about their luggage being to heavy and having to rearrange items. I have to admit I chuckled as I watched them struggle. When we finished checking in we were done before they were and I wanted to say something childish but I didn’t. Instead we walked past them and didn’t say a word. Praying they wouldn’t be on our flight or sitting right by us. 

When we got to the gate and waited for our plane I thought about the woman at check in. Choosing to show her some Grace and let it go was intentional and not my natural reaction or easy but I knew it was the right thing to do. I wanted to set an example for my kids. To not act on my first instinct but to listen to that tug that tells me the right thing to do. That day I chose kindness as my act of giving. Kindness towards strangers who didn’t notice or or even ask for it. 

So next time you are about to list your cool. Think about it and choose kindness. It may not come naturally but we need to Glorify Him by choosing kindness and Grace in all situations. we also need to learn to think before we speak and I wanted to model for the kids what James 1:19-20 says

Leave a Reply

