Day 157 – It is a lifestyle change

I am understanding more and more that this journey to have less and live more is a lifestyle change. It also isn’t going to happen over night. And no matter how much I sell and give away I still feel like I have too much. I won’t see immediate results. It is going to take awhile. If I sell or give away at least one thing a day then that would be 365 items. That seems like a lot but I have given away or sold at least 300 items and it hasn’t made a dent. What it has done is give us some money to do some things like sports camps and matinee movies. Experiences over things. So I will keep going knowing that this lifestyle change will take much longer than the 365 days of serving, loving, giving and kindness. 

Like Joshua Becker says in his book, The More of Less: 

Our excessive possessions are not making us happy. Even worse, they are taking us away from the things that do. Once we let go of the things that don’t matter, we are free to pursue all the things that really do matter.

That is my goal. To get rid of our excess and letting go of things that don’t matter so we have more time for the things that do matter. I just had to come to the realization that it won’t happen over night, it is a process. And I am finding out like Joshua Becker says, 

There is more joy to be found in owning less than can ever be found in pursuing more. 

This is why I am constantly posting things for sale or free on Facebook. This is also why I make weekly donations to Goodwill and Willing Partners. It has taken me 40 years to get to this point in my life. It is going to take more than 6 months to make a noticeable change. 

For my act of giving the other day I have my friend Jan some coolers I had for sale on Facebook. Why do we have so many coolers/ice chests. We only use two of them. Why were we holding on to the others? Just in case. Everytime we got stuff out of the garage they were moved from one place to another. Taking up space. 


Even though this lifestyle change is taking time and is a lot of work I lean on the following verse when I get distracted. 


Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be. 

Ouch. That line gets me every time. It is clear that I have lived a life where I put things and stuff at the top of my list. Giving my kids to much, holding on to possessions we no longer use or need (like the coolers). I challenge you to examine where your treasure is.

Leave a Reply

