Day 146 – Chase the Lion

This journey of doing an act of kindness, serving, giving or loving every day for 365 days was inspired by the Book Chase The Lion by Mark Batterson.I talk about it in my very first post: https://365daysofserving.wordpress.com/2017/01/02/my-mission/ It is one of my favorite books full of amazing quotes. The Lion Chaser’s Manifesto is something I read weekly. 

Go after a dream that is destined to fail without divine intervention. 

That is exactly what I did when I set the goal of doing and act of kindness, serving, giving or loving everyday for a year and then set out to write about it. There was no way this was going to be possible without God’s intervention. 

The other day I saw that a friend of mine was reading In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson. It is the prequel to Chase the Lion and another favorite. Someone gave it to us and it was how I was introduced to Mark Batterson. When I saw Kimberly was reading it I knew what my act of kindness would be for the day, buy her Chase the Lion and have it sent to her house. Kimberly is a mom after my own heart. She teaches special education , is a runner and likes to read. We have so much in common. She inspires me and she doesn’t even know it. She introduced me to daily verse jars and I can’t wait to make one for someone else . 


I sent her a message letting her know I was buying her the book for my act of kindness and then I dropped the ball. I never ordered it. I kept saying tomorrow. By the time I thought about it each night I was to tired. I made a million excuses but the truth is I just didn’t do it. 

Then today I looked at my notes where I write down my act for the day everyday so I can remember it and it was time to write about buying the book for Kimberly. What a big fat slap in the face. Mark Batterson reminds us :

When everything is said and done, God isn’t going to say, “Well said,” “Well thought,” or “Well planned.” There is one measuring stick: “Well done, good and faithful servant!”

I went online and order the book, along with another one recommended by my pastor. I still felt bad. I should have ordered it when I said I was going to . Then it hit me. Maybe that wasn’t Gods plans. Maybe he wanted me to send it late so I could send the other book. I don’t know for sure what or why. All I do know is that I did not listen to that tug at my heart when I first heard it. I was not faithful. I was not inconviennced. I had thought and planned but failed to acts 

I encourage you to stop living life like you are trying to live safely at death. Be a good and faithful servant. Listen to and act on those tugs in your heart. Chase the Lion!!!

P.s.

The books shipped tonight!!!

Leave a Reply

