Day 142 – Last Day Of School

The last day of school was a mix of emotions. On the one hand I was READY for a break. On the other hand, this had been the best year I had had with my students and aides. I had mixed emotions about the school year. I was getting my feelings hurt easily and trying to stay positive. I mean I did have a lot to be thankful for. A great group of kids and great new aides, a successful year for my students academically. So to celebrate and thank them, for my act of kindness that day, I bought my aides a Take 5 and wrote them a note about how much I appreciated them!  

Since I started this journey of 365 days of doing a act of kindness, serving or giving every day, I have looked for more opportunities to tell people I appreciate them or to reach out to friends. My classroom is unique in that we have several adults working with students with varying needs. Not that many people want to work in my classroom. To be truthful we have a hard time finding subs. I couldn’t have made it through the year without my aides and I am so thankful for all their hard work and dedication to the students. 

I challenge you to take time to tell someone you appreciate the job they are doing, whether it be at work, home or some other place. People need to feel appreciated and always go above and beyond when they do!

Leave a Reply

