Day 121 – Cancer Sucks 

Everyone I know has been affected by cancer in some way. A family member, co-worker or community member, we all know someone who has fought or is currently fighting cancer. I personally know several people and several children battling this disease. Cancer sucks!!

While on Facebook a couple weeks ago I came across a post about a lady named Emily Boyles. I don’t know Emily but we have several common friends, including  the mother of a local boy, Mighty Max who is battling Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. Emily’s goal is to raise awareness and money for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital and childhood cancer research. She is doing this through running. 

Emily trained for months and raised money to participate in the St. Jude’s Marathon in Nashville. Unfortunately she was injured and could not run the race. Here is what she said: 

Two weeks before the race, I noticed a sharp pain during my long run and couldn’t push on. I was diagnosed with a stress fracture and sidelined for the big race. I have no doubt this was God’s way of reminding me that this race was about all of the children fighting cancer and not about running 26.2 miles. My husband and I still attended Nashville during race weekend because as a St. Jude hero, I was invited to attend a special pre-race dinner. When we walked into the ballroom, there were several St. Jude patients and their families cheering for us. Some of the kids held signs that said, “You’re MY HERO!” It was one of the most touching moments of my life – right up there with the birth of my two children. It was at that time that I knew I wasn’t supposed to stop. I will continue to run for a reason and raise money for St. Jude Children’s Hospital in honor of Mighty Max. 

When I read about Emily’s Journey I was inspired. I wanted to help. I donated $10 towards her fundraising goal for her next race and in support of Mighty Max. I could not think of a better act of kindness for the day. 

$10 may not seem like much. But I know that I can’t do everything, but I can do something. My $10 added in with all the other donations can make a difference. We can’t just sit around hoping someone else will take care of the problem. I encourage you to help Emily reach her goal and show support for Mighty Max. 

Max and his whole family are amazing people. They all serve our community daily in their jobs as policemen, educators and nurses. They give back to their community daily and I know they appreciate people like Emily who are committed to raising awareness about childhood cancer. 

If you would like to help Emily reach her next goal, please consider making a donation today. Even $10 can make a difference. follow the link to help http://fundraising.stjude.org/site/TR/Heroes/Heroes?px=3613040&pg=personal&fr_id=67039

Leave a Reply

