Day 109 A Hand Written Note

I don’t know about you but I love getting mail. I am not talking about bills, offers and junk mail. I am talking about letters, cards, little presents, all the things we used to send before text message and email. I loved having a pen pail when I was younger and I look forward to the Christmas cards we receive every year. 

The other day I went to CVS to buy a card and I got a coupon for buy one get one free. So I bought the birthday card I needed and then I browsed through cards for something else. I came across a cute card that said hello and was blank inside. I bought it not knowing when or who it was for. A couple weeks ago I was settling down for the night and still hadn’t done an act of serving, loving or giving for the day. I remembered the card I had bought and decided to write a note to a friend as my act of kindness for the day. 

I laid in bed, blank card open and my friend Deborah came to mind. Deborah is one of a kind. We met when I was working at the Gap in Huntington Beach. She is full of laughter and fun. We loved to watch Sex and the City and go out dancing. We have been to Las Vegas and met up in NYC. No matter if I don’t see her for years , we pick back up right where we left off. 


I wrote her a quick note, sealed it and addressed it for the mail. It took fifteen minutes to reach out to a friend, to say hello, to let them know you care. Right before I had Lu, Deborah sent me a surprise package from Seattle where she lives now. It was such a sweet gesture and made me feel special and loved. 

I encourage you to send a card, a little present , a letter of encourgament to someone this week. You may never know how much your act of kindness meant to them, but me assured it will lift the person up! 

Leave a Reply

