Day 108 – 52 Minutes 

52 minutes is a lot of time. If you sleep 8 hours a day and are awake for 16 then that is 960 minutes a day you are awake. 52 minutes of which I spent talking to a friend the other day. Time is one of the most valuable resources we have. When you choose to invest time in another person, that value can multiply. But we often make excuses with our time. I am busy, I don’t have time to talk, they will talk to long, I have to clean, I will call tomorrow. But tomorrow never comes and we never call. That has changed for me. 

Since beginning my journey of 365 days of giving, serving and loving when I think about someone I call them. I don’t make excuses , I don’t do it tomorrow, I am not to busy, I make the time. The other night I was thinking about Mr. Beamer (you know him, I talked about him in a couple of posts including the last time we spoke in March https://365daysofserving.wordpress.com/2017/03/07/day-63-a-phone-call/ ) so I called him on my way to take Mia to swim practice. And I am so glad I did.

See those long drives seem crazy to most. The mileage, the time, the gas. Sure it is a big commitment but it is worth it to watch Mia fulfill her dreams. One upside to them is the amount of uninterrupted time I have. The perfect amount of time to make a call. So when I thought about Mr. Beamer I called him. We talked for 52 minutes. We talked about school, sports, family and chemo. We can talk all day. Mr. Beamwe started working with me the first day I started teaching and taught with me every day for 8 years. We have been through it all. I was happy and sad for him all at the same time when he retired last March. He will forever hold a special place in my heart. Almost all my memories of teaching include him. Special education teachers and their parapros work together closely. Mr. Beamer has become like family to me. 

I promise you that you will never regret taking time to call someone dear to you. I am reminded how much I miss Mr. Beamer every time I call. We talked and laughed and by the time I hung up and looked at my phone I couldn’t believe it had been 52 minutes. It brought me so much joy I wasn’t sure about even counting it as my act of   kindness for the day. 

I encourage you to listen to that tug at your heart. Call people. Let them know you care. Talk to them. Don’t text. Share life together. I will forever be thankful for the time that Mr. Beamer and I spent working together. I can honesty say that I am wiser for knowing him. Spend 52 minutes tomorrow calling someone you care about. I promise You will never regret it. 

Leave a Reply

