Day 106 -You go Ahead 

I go to CVS quite often. It is right down the street from my house. When I run out of something like diapers, formula, bottled water or cat food, I will often run in there so I don’t have to go to the store. There are only a few workers and I know them well. One night a couple weeks ago I ran in to get formula and diapers. When I walked up to check out, a man got in line behind me. He had one item in his hand and looked like he was in a hurry. 

Do you want to go ahead of me?

 I asked. He said yes and went ahead. The lady working rang him up quickly and he was on his way. 

He was in a hurry. He didn’t have to be so rude.

She commented. 

It’s ok. I am not in a hurry. I don’t mind. It was my act of kindness for the day. 

There was a pause. I then proceeded to tell her about my blog and how I am doing 365 days of serving, giving and loving others. My goal is to be intentional, to look for opportunities to be kind. This seemed like the perfect moment. Sure I had a baby in one hand and a basket full in the other hand but it really didn’t cost me much to be kind. In fact it only cost me about three minutes of my time. 

The clerk commented on my kindness, checked me out and I was on my way. That interaction made me realize that every interaction I have with people is a chance to share about this journey, my faith and to set an example as a believer. I want my interactions to be a reflection of my faith in Him. I want to treat others as I wish to be treated. 

I could have ignored the man and let him wait in line. I could have commented on his behavior to the clerk. I could have ignored the opportunity to be kind. But I didn’t because I choose to look around me. To look for opportunities to be kind. I find ways to serve others and chances to give. I am blessed to be able to be on this journey and I want my actions to be a reflection of my faith in Him. 

 At first it may seem that the Golden Rule is easy to live by. Do to others as you would want done to you. But then you read Luke 6 and realize that being kind in and of itself is not enough. You must love, be kind and give to all. Bit just those you think are worthy. 
I challenge you this week to let someone go ahead of you in line at the market, Starbucks, or in line at the movies. Show kindness. Let your actions be a reflection of your faith. Do not only give to get. Give both your time and your money, because that is what God wants us to do. 

Leave a Reply

