Day 87 – Always the perfect amount

I have said it before and I will say it again, the last Wednesday of the month is my favorite day of the whole month. The Community Meal is my happy place. I love to serve our community, see my friends, talk to new people and share the love of Jesus.

This month we had Italian night. Spaghetti, lasagna, baked ziti, salad and desserts. Per the usual, hardly anyone signed up ahead of time. I have stopped worrying a long time ago about having enough food. No matter if we have 75 or 250 people there is always the perfect amount. Sure sometimes we have left overs but it is on those nights that we have people who stay for take out, who don’t have food, that won’t get paid for a couple more days, we always have enough.

This past Wednesday was no different. Hardly anyone signed up but we had just enough food. The line was to the door from 5-7pm. We had at least 200 people come through. People from our church, neighbors, friends, community members. People who had never been and our regulars. Some believers, some nonbelievers, all there to eat and enjoy in the fellowship. I always love when I run into friends I haven’t seen in awhile.

The community meals give people a safe place to come and eat, talk, laugh, and hang out. I can’t tell you how many times I have been in CVS, Walmart, or the gas station and someone says to me, “Hey I know you from the community meal”. See these meals are about more than feeding people for me. They are about building relationships, letting people know I care. It is then that people will reach out to me for advice, help, or just to talk. When you eat together, not just serve people and watch them eat, you break down walls and start to form relationships with them. Never underestimate the power of a meal. I encourage you to join us this month. We serve on the last Wednesday of the month at Cornerstone Church. Come eat, meet new people, serve dessert! I promise you will want to come back every month. You will quickly understand why it is my happy place.

Leave a Reply

