Day 76 – Surprise We Are Going to Get Ice cream

“Surprise we are going to get ice cream”  those words are like music to Kendal’s ears. He loves sweets. He is defiantly my son. We both can demolish a plate of fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. So Saturday afternoon Cesar and Mia were planning on going to the movies, so I decided to surprise Kendal and take him to ice cream for my act of love and kindness for the day. 

We got in the car and I told him the good news. He was excited but not as excited as I had imagined. As we drove to Dairy Bar I had an idea. I asked him if taking the Goads would make it better. He agreed and we swung by their house and picked them up. 

I have written about the Goads and their family several times. It just reminds me how very blessed we are to have them in our life. They are Kendal’s buddies and I couldn’t ask for better friends. 

I walked into Dairy Bar with the boys and the girls working smiled. They knew me from all my peanut butter shake runs while I was pregnant, one goes to church with us and the others we know from community activities and Facebook. The boys ordered their treats and went outside. This is what it looks like when you take a group of boys to get ice cream! Pure Joy!!I went back in to get my peanut butter shake (you know for old times sake) and to pay. Lindsey handed me my shake and then wouldn’t let me pay. She was picking up the tab. I was overwhelmed . She wanted to bless me for all I do in the community. I said thanks and went outside with the boys.

I told the boys about Lindsey’s kindness. We talked about being a blessing to others and they just knew she would be blessed for her kindness. We talked about how awesome this world would be if people just spent time blessing others and lifting eachother up. I was so thankful we picked those boys up, talked about blessing others and dreamed about the kind of world we could live in.

Of course it didn’t take long for this group of boys to get into a rock throwing contest from a hill into a trash can. After a winner was declared, the boys all went in and thanked Lindsey themselves and off to home we went.

One thing I hope that this blog does is inspire people to their own intentional acts of giving, serving and loving others. I don’t know who is reading this or even what they think but I do know how much my life has changed over these past 76 days. Hopefully I can continue to have days like Saturday in which I am encouraged to continue to do good works and acts of love for others. 

Leave a Reply

