Day 72 – Hold Them a Little Tighter 

Tuesday we had a snow day. We needed a snow day.  Kendal, Luna and I were lazy. We laid in bed, watched movies and wasted the day away. We needed a day to just be. 

Our community was grieving. We were preparing to say good bye to a real life hero. The day before I was asked to help provide childcare that evening at the viewing for Officer Bartlett. I was thankful to help and serve the family in this very small way during such a tragic time. One thing I have learned on this journey of 365 days of serving, loving and giving is that no act is to small. So I volunteered a couple hours of my time so that the family would have one less thing to worry about. 

When I arrived at the viewing I was overwhelmed with sadness for the family. Sitting there watching them greet each person and listen as they offered their condolences broke my heart. When it was my time to greet the family I was at a loss for words. I shared with them my students love for Curtis and the joy he brought to our school. I wanted to celebrate his life . A life that inspired many. 

I made my way through a sea of police officers and back to childcare. I was greeted by many familiar faces. People I have served with in many capacities, at different churches and events. But that night was different. We were serving their children so that the family could grieve. I was humbled by the task at hand. 

Curtis’s two young nieces were there. Sweet, young, gorgeous girls. They had everyone’s attention and everyone’s love. The littlest one especially touched my heart. A month younger than Lu, it broke my heart to think about how she would never know her uncle. 

I spent a couple hours back there. The baby eventually went to sleep. The night was beginning to come to an end. I said my goodbyes and made my way back through the sanctuary. The line to pay respects was still as long as it was three hours before that. The family in their same spots, continuing to greet people and listen to their stories.

As I drove home I prayed for the family, thankful for even the smallest opportunity to serve them. When I got home and got ready for bed. I found myself looking at my own kids and imagining how anyone could handle that kind of grief. I held my kids a little tighter when I put them to bed that night. For although I knew Curtis was in heaven, now his friends and family had a real life super hero looking over them. I was thankful that I could serve the family in that capacity. Never let a opportunity to love others keep you from doing what you know you should do in your heart. If you would like to make a donation in Curtis’ honor click the link below and continue to pray for his family and friends as they try to adjust to the new normal in their life. 

https://rspnutrition.com/product/policefitness./

On a side note, Mia received another gift for her trip to Orlando to swim next week. Taking time to lift her up, encourage her and invest in her means more to Mia than the money ever will.

So much wisdom in such a sad sad night.

Leave a Reply

