Day 57 – Willing Partners

Monday night my Pastor,Mike Morris, asked me to attend a volunteer appreciation dinner held at Hillcrest Baptist Church and put on by Willing Partners. I was honored that Mike asked me to go and represent Cornerstone Church. I really didn’t know that much about Willing Partners before Monday. I knew they ran a food bank and ran mostly off volunteers, but that was about it. 

The dinner was nice. The food was great. I sat with one of the board members, Sonda Tracey, who also goes to my church. After dinner they had a short information and recognition session. I was so glad I was able to go and hear about all the stuff that Willing Partners does for our community. 

Willing Partners, Inc. is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization which helps with a variety of community needs, but our main operation is our food bank. We are headquartered in Galax, Virginia and we service all of Grayson County, Carroll County and the city of Galax. We host our food bank twice a week on Tuesdays and Fridays out of our Galax location. We have a thrift store located in Galax. The items sold in our store are all donated by the local communities and businesses. The funds taken in help to support our charity programs and food bank. We feed, on average, more than 1300 households each month and are one of the largest USDA food distributors in the state of Virginia.

Willing Partners sells all of their items for $3 or less and many of them are just 25 cents. They have very few paid part time employees who also donate countless hours. They rely on volunteers for help. They have many community partners in local churches like Cornerstone, as well as businesses like Food City, Food Lion and Walmart. It really does take the whole community’s support to make Willing Partners an available resource. 

I was honored to be able to accept the certificate of recognition on Cornerstones behalf. I left there with a better understanding of the role of Willing Partners in our community. I also left there with a desire to do more. I went home and finished putting together a basket of donations. 


I encourage you to put together a basket of donations for this wonderful ministry in our community . We need to support local ministries with not onlt donations but our time as well. When I left the dinner I was inspired by the volunteers who spend countless hours there. My hopes is to organize service days and take groups over to volunteer. 

When I think about feeding and clothing the hungry I always think about the following scripture in James. 

Faith without action is dead. I encourage you to put your faith into action and find a local ministry to volunteer your time at. I know I will be at Willing Partners very soon, and hopefully with a group!! 

Leave a Reply

