Day 7 – Showing Sympathy and a Surprise Reminder 

Seems like there have been so many deaths in our community lately. Young mothers , beloved friends, aging parents, and grandparents. Some of these people had been sick and suffering while others were complete surprises. Everytime I hear about it I feel helpless. I want to reach out but I don’t know what to say. I want to do more than post how sorry I am on Facebook. How many times have we posted “I will be praying for you” and not really prayed. I wanted to change that. I decided that I was not going to post “I will be praying” unless I was going to take the time to pray right then. Also I was going to try and send a card if it was a friend of mine who had experienced the loss. So upon hearing about a friends mother/mother in Laws passing,  I decided I would send a card. I had been struggling all day about what I was going to do for my act of kindness for the day, so I bought a nice sympathy card and wrote a note in it. I even shared one of my favorite verses. Since we were sending a card, I asked Mia if she wanted to write a letter. See Mrs. Becky was Mia and Kendal’s preschool teacher. I thought it would be nice to include a letter and some pictures of the kids along with the sympathy card for her and her husband. Mia quickly obliged and wrote a note. I have to admit. Today had been a rough day in the parenting department with Mia. These preteen years combined with an 8 month old baby in the house,  Make for some not so perfect moments. Mia brought me the note and asked me not to read it right then. I put it aside and  went about tending to Luna. Right before coming to bed I opened it up and read it before putting it in the envelope to be mailed. 

My heart was overwhelmed. Mia had written Mrs. Becky the sweetest note. I was filled with awe of the young woman she was becoming. Thank you for the reminder. Mia is such a good kid. I just love how God works, these little reminders always come at the perfect time. If I hadn’t bought that card and asked Mia to write a note hello, I would not have been reminded of the Godly girl Mia was becoming. 

Take time to listen to God’s little reminders. Take time to show love and kindness. You never know when God may use it to encourage you. Again I am reminded Gods timing is perfect and the opportunity to show kindness is always there we just need to be present to see it.  

Also I encourage you to take the time to really pray for people when you tell them you will be. I am personally guilty of just saying “I will be praying for you” and not following through. Praying is one of the areas of my spiritual life that I need to continue to work on. I won’t be saying those words lightly anymore. 

Lastly, today I was pleasantly surprised by an anonymous donor who fully funded a project I created on Donors Choose for some class robots. The most amazing thing is that I haven’t shared about this project in weeks. I had actually given up on it being funded and just like that , it is shipped and on its way. It is like God was telling me to continue to be faithful and honest in my serving, giving and loving and he would continue to provide and bless me. What a wonderful surprise and how encouraging! 

2 thoughts on “Day 7 – Showing Sympathy and a Surprise Reminder ”

  1. I have been guilty in the past of the same thing. Now I immediately pray right then or write it in my prayer book. It’s great to look back over all the prayers God has answered.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

