Day 16 – Love Your Neighbor

This is one of those times when I am going to admit a huge failure of mine. We have lived in our house for almost 13 years and I am ashamed to say we don’t know any of our neighbors. That is embarrassing. We wave and make small talk but I couldn’t tell you their names or much about them. The Bible says to love your neighbor as yourself. I sure haven’t done that. I thought about my neighbors and how many opportunities there have been to get to know them or learn their names. How is it I spend so much time getting to know the people in my church, at the community meals, soup kitchen and sporting events but I don’t give my neighbors the same attention?  

The other day when it was snowing the rescue squad came to help my elderly neighbor. When I saw the ambulance pull up my heart sank. I knew she lived alone so I put my shoes on and headed over. By the time I got to her yard someone else had pulled up in her driveway to help her. I watched for a second with my kids by my side. Kendal was so worried about her . We didn’t even know her name. 

A couple days later our neighbor came home and I decided that I was going to make more of an effort to get to know and serve my neighbors. I am quick to talk about church, ministry, serving and God with others, it was time to share the good news with the people right in my back yard.

So for our act of kindness today we bought a nice plant and wrote a note and took it to our neighbor. The note (made out To Neighbor) said get well soon, let us know if you need anthing and we will be praying for you. Kids were super excited to take the plant and note over to her house I am guilty of not taking time to form relationships with the people I see everyday. Today I realized that the mission field is everywhere and I need to be more aware of the people in my life, everyday, at home. I encourage you to take time to get to know the people around where you call home. Love them like your self , and share with them how much God has done for you. 

Leave a Reply

