Day 12 – The Giving Keys 

Have you ever met someone and felt like they were your people. That is exactly how I feel about Brenda Harmon. She is my spirit animal. She has a passion for serving her community. She is perfectly flawed and wonderfully honest. So when I came across a giving keys necklace while shopping the other night I just knew I had to give it to her. 

The giving keys is a company which uses the profits from its line of jewelry to help transition people out of homelessness. https://www.thegivingkeys.com The point of the necklaces, which are inscribed with uplifting words, is for the person who receives the necklace to embrace their word and then pass it on to someone else. The necklace I got for Brenda was inscribed with the word Inspire. I had it for a week and just couldn’t wait to give it to her. Brenda inspires me in so many ways. She is a working mom who balances parenting and work with amazing grace. She is a dream chaser, always thinking of ways to step out and help out in the community. She loves her church and God. She is passionate about her friends and family. She is honest and real. 

More specifically, she recently wrote a post on Facebook that really hit home for me. She discussed how in her past she may have looked healthier on the outside  but today she is much healthier on the inside both emotionally, spiritually and mentally. Her goal this year is to align her physical self with what’s on the inside. Healthy both inside and out. She has signed up to run a half marathon with her church and writes about her successes and failures with raw honesty and truth. I find myself cheering her on, pulling for her, excited to see God move in her life. 

When I think of Brenda this verse comes to mind. Brenda gives God all the glory. She is so passionate about serving and loving others. She inspires me weekly. I thank God for putting people like Brenda in my life. To inspire me and give me hope. I challenge you to tell someone you know why they inspire you. Let them know that they make a difference. You never know why God has placed them in your life but Thank God he does! 

Thank you Brenda for inspiring me. I am here for you and look forward to serving with you again. Together I know we can make a difference in this small community. Keep believing. 

Leave a Reply

